Storytime: Thanksgiving

 

Thanksgiving by Miriam Nerlove

Thanks for Thanksgiving by Julie Markes

Thanksgiving is Here by Diane Goode

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of the buzzers we use during Young Adult trivia games sounds like a doorbell, I let each child ring the bell once while we read “Thanksgiving is Here.”

Families

Then we talked about how every family is different and who is in our families.

Some families are large (arms out wide)

Some families are small (hands close together)

But I love my family best of all (hug self)

We Eat Turkey (Tune: Frere Jacques)

Next we talked about all the yummy food we like to eat on Thanksgiving. Then I was informed that none of my 3-5 year olds like turkey, mashed potatoes or squash. When I asked them what they eat on Thanksgiving they said corn, mac & cheese and pie! I told them it was a repeat after me song, that I would sing and then they would repeat it. This is the first time I’ve ever done that with them and it went better than expected, they all got really into the song.

we eat turkey

We eat turkey/we eat turkey

Oh so good/oh so good

Always on Thanksgiving/always on Thanksgiving

Yum, yum, yum/yum, yum yum (rub belly)

(mashed potatoes, corn, squash, pie)

Dinner’s over/dinner’s over

We are stuffed/we are stuffed (hold belly)

What a great Thanksgiving/what a great Thanksgiving

Yum, yum, yum/yum, yum, yum

Source: Story Time Secrets

The Turkey Hop by Carole Peterson

Silly Turkey (flannel board)

Each child received one feather and put it on Mr. Turkey (I got a few giggles when I called him that) when their color was called.

silly turkey

I’m a silly turkey, I’m so much fun

But I need some silly feathers

Do you have (color) ones?

Source: Read, Rhyme & Sing

Walk Like a Turkey

Walk like a turkey

Waddle, waddle, waddle

Talk like a turkey

Gobble, gobble, gobble

Run like a turkey

Round and round

But when it’s Thanksgiving

Shhhh don’t make a sound

If You’re Thankful and You Know It

If you’re thankful and you know it clap your hands…

(stomp your feet, jump up and down, turn around, touch your toes, shout I AM)

Craft

photo 1

Leave a comment

Filed under Storytime

Leave a Reply

