Storytime: Snowmen

Snowmen at Night by Caralyn Buehner

There Was a Cold Lady Who Swallowed Some Snow by Lucille Colandro

Snowballs by Lois Ehlert

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’d like to preface my book choices by stating that I’m not the biggest fan of “There Was an Old Lady….” stories, the original is too graphic because she often dies and the remakes (most often involving holidays) are just plan weird, with that being said I still gave it a shot with “There Was a Cold Lady Who Swallowed Some Snow.” If the kids really liked the book I was going to put my personal feelings aside and start using them in story time but alas my children thought it was weird. So this was the beginning and end of my “There Was an Old Lady…” story time use. I know some kids love these books but it just doesn’t work for my crew (or me).

 

Five Little Snowmen (Flannel Board) (Tune: Five Little Monkeys)

photo 2-1

Five little snowmen riding on a sled

One fell off and bumped his head

Frosty called the doctor and the doctor said

No more snowmen riding on the sled

(count down)

Chubby Little Snowman

A chubby little snowman (hold hands out to side)

Had a carrot nose (point to nose)

Along came a bunny (hop like a bunny)

And what do you suppose? (shrug shoulders)

That hungry little bunny (rub stomach)

Looking for his lunch (hold hand above eyes and look around)

Ate that snowman’s carrot nose (bite)

Nibble, nibble crunch

(repeat)

Parachute

We played with the parachute and made some paper snowflakes fly.

Craft

Name snowmen!

photo 1-1

Leave a comment

Filed under Storytime

Leave a Reply

