Song Cube

I’m sure by now you have all seen a song cube (Mel’s Desk and Storytime Katie have great examples); well I have gone ahead and made my own! This is something I have wanted to make for a while now but just haven’t had the time/materials. Come October I am starting a whole new set of programs (be on the look out for them!) and decided there is no time like the present.

So without further ado, here is my song cube…

1

Supplies:

  • Scissors
  • Packing tape
  • Contact paper
  • Box
  • Pictures that represent a song

While I have seen other blogs use tissue boxes I wanted to make sure I had a perfect square. I scrounged the library’s basement (which is filled with boxes) and could not find a perfect square. Next, I turned to the man with all the answers…my dad!! Low and behold my father of course had the perfect size box for me, I don’t think he’s seen me that excited about a box since I was a kid! (THANKS DAD)

 

First I trimmed each picture down to the size of the box (8 inches), then I cut a piece of contact paper that was roughly 1 inch bigger on each side.

2

Then it was time to stick the picture to the contact paper and then the box. I have to say putting the picture onto the contact paper was the hardest part, I hate when there are bubbles but it was inevitable that there would be a few. I really wanted to make sure that the contact paper overlapped every side of the box to help make it sturdier.

3

And continue until all the sides are covered!!

Here is my final product…

4

The perfectionist in me is not happy about some of the bubbles in the contact paper but the librarian in me is thrilled because I know how much the children are going to love using it in storytime. I can’t wait until October is here to bring out my new prop!

Songs:

  • Boat- row, row, row your boat
  • Spider- itsy bitsy spider
  • Boy with hands on head – head, shoulders, knees and toes
  • Alphabet blocks – alphabet song
  • Hands clapping – if you’re happy and you know it
  • School bus – the wheels on the bus
Leave a comment

Filed under Storytime

Leave a Reply

