Daddy & Me: Oct. 2015

When I started my new position the director of the library was very adamant about me starting a once a month Daddy & Me program on my Saturday. I was apprehensive at first because I was afraid the word “Daddy” would keep people away, families are a wide mix and I wanted to be as inclusive as possible. When advertising for the program I did stress that any one was welcome and that the program was a special bonding time. I even had a mother call me concerned because she couldn’t attend any story times during the week and her son’s father recently passed away, I told her please come. I ended up receiving some solo fathers, grandfathers, moms and dad; I even had two mothers wait in the other room so the dads could have special time with their child.

My Hands Wave Hello (Tune: Farmer in the Dell)
My hands wave hello
My hands wave hello
Every time I see my friends
My hands wave hello
(repeat with: feet, elbows, tongue)

Book – I Went Walking by Sue Williams
The State Library Services lets librarians check out these great book props for a month, I was so excited by how large it was! The kids really liked seeing the animals (but the cat was a little difficult for them to guess).

IMG_6028

Old MacDonald
I would take an animal off the flannel board and that was the one we sung about. It was a great way to get the animals off the board and put them away without all the kids running up to the board and grabbing them.

Old MacDonald had a farm
E-i-e-i-o
And on that farm he had a cow
E-i-e-i-o
With a moo, moo here
And a moo, moo there
Here a moo, there a moo
Everywhere a moo moo
Old MacDonald had a farm
E-i-e-i-o
(repeat with different animals)

Scarves

IMG_5970

This is the Way
This is the way we wash our face, wash our face, wash our face
This is the way we wash our face so early in the morning
(repeat with other body parts)

One Bright Scarf
One bright scarf waiting for the wind to blow
Wiggle it high
Wiggle it low
Shake it fast
Shake it slow
(hide scarf behind back)
Where did it go?

Popcorn Kernels (Tune: Frere Jacques)
Popcorn kernels, popcorn kernels (wave scarves)
In the pot, in the pot (bunch scarves in fist)
Shake them, shake them, shake them (shake hands)
Shake them, shake them, shake them
Til they POP (throw scarves into the air)
Til they pop

Shake Our Sillies Out by Raffi

I Love Daddy (Tune: Frere Jacques)
I told the adults that they could replace the word “Daddy” with whatever they saw fit.
I love daddy, I love daddy
Yes I do, yes I do
We have fun together, we have fun together
Just us two, just us two

They Read
I put out a bunch of books on fall and Halloween and had the adult and child read a book together while I went to get the toys.

Free Play

IMG_6029

For free play I brought out some random toys, the cardboard bricks and Legos were the biggest crowd pleaser.

Summary: It was a tough crowd/tough room. Since it is a Saturday and we don’t have a lot of coverage I had to have the program in the Children’s Department instead of in the Community Room. There are 4 awe stations, books, stuffed animals, a doll house, and other toys in that room; it is very hard to compete with all those fun things!! I had a mix of children who paid attention and children who played with toys. All in all I think it went well. At the end I brought out “special toys”  aka the toys we don’t like to leave out all the time (legos, cardboard building bricks, etc) and those were a huge hit. The program ended up going a lot better than I thought it would, I hope they all come back next month!

Leave a comment

Filed under Storytime

Leave a Reply

